PRECEDING PAGE BLANK NOT FILMED

Preface

The Spacecraft Charging Technology Conference was held at the USAF Academy from 27-29 October 1976. The Conference provided the initial opportunity for an exchange of results from the AF/NASA Spacecraft Charging Technology Program. This program is coordinated by the AFSC(DL)/NASA(OAST) Space Research and Technology Review Group. The Review Group coordinates interdependent technology programs between the two agencies. At the Conference, USAF, NASA, industry and university groups working in the spacecraft charging technology area were able to present their results. Spacecraft charging technology encompasses a broad based technology effort, composed of expertise spanning the spectrum from geophysics to spacecraft design engineering. The Conference provided a medium For a comprehensive presentation of results from programs in these diverse disciplines The technology base Formed at the Conference, and contained in this document, has immediate and direct application to design and test requirements for on-going and planned USAF, NASA, and industry space systems.

We would like to thank Col. John E. Brooke, Assistant Director of Science and Technology, USAF Systems Command, and Dr. Robert E. Smylie, Acting Associate Administrator for Aeronautics and Space Technology, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, for their approval and endorsement of the Conference. C. Pike would like to thank Col. Bernard S. Morgan, Jr., Commander of the USAF Geophysics Laboratory, USAF Systems Command, for his encouragement and for his support of the Conference. We would also like to thank Lt. Gen. James R. Allen, Superintendent, USAF Academy, for supporting the Conference, including arrangements for accommodations, transportation, meals and facilities, and Brig. Gen. William T. Woodyard, Dean of Faculty, USAF Academy, for his welcoming address. In particular, thanks are extended tu Capi, Mark Tarreano, Directorate of Conferences, USAF Academy, for his outstanding support at the Conference, Members of the Conference Program Committee are Capt. M. H. Bunh, Dr. M. L. Minges, Dr. A. Rosen, Dr. R. W. Rostrnn, and Dr. E.C. Whtpple.

C. P. PIKE R. R. LOWELL Co-Chairmen, USAF/NASA Spacecraft Charging Technology Conference