## PREFACE

The 6<sup>th</sup> Spacecraft Charging Conference was held during 26 – 29 October 1998 at the Air Force Research Laboratory, Hanscom AFB, MA, USA. This was the 6<sup>th</sup> in a series of topical conferences spanning a period of more than 20 years. Over the years, the scope of the conference has slowly broadened to include other areas of spacecraft-plasma interactions such as Electro-dynamic Tethers and environmental issues with electric propulsion, and the control of low voltage spacecraft potentials. It is remarkable that although the basic physics of spacecraft charging is now well understood, new vulnerabilities continue to appear with advancing designs, and interest in the subject seems to be as strong as it was 24 years ago when the first conference was held at the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, Oct 31 1978. Attendance at the previous conferences was always representative of government, industry, and academia both foreign and domestic (U.S.). This conference was notable in that it was also cosponsored by the European Space Agency Technology Centre, ESTEC. The lead sponsor was the Space Vehicles Directorate of AFRL with additional sponsorship from NASA-SEE (Space and Environmental Effects) at NASA-Marshall Space Flight Center, and NASA-Glenn Research Center.

This proceeding is available in both hardcopy and compact disc. The CD has been produced in such a way that the entire proceedings can be reproduced from the CD with print quality equal to the hardcopy.

## ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

The editors are please to acknowledge the contributions of the following individuals: Nelson Bonito, Christopher Roth, Silver Moon Perillo, Kris Bhavnani, Scott Wells and Susan Cline of Radex Inc., Bedford MA for their help in organizing the conference and assistance in producing the proceedings; Capt. Greg Schultz, Lt. David Wrazen, Lt. Peter Berkeley, Gregory Ginet, and David Hardy from AFRL; Steve Pearson, Matt McCollum, and Billy Kaufmann of NASA-SEE (MSFC); Dale Ferguson of NASA-GRC; Eamonn Daly of ESTEC.

Special thanks are also due to our corporate sponsors, Maxwell Technologies, Loral Space Systems, and Spar Aerospace for their generous contributions towards the travel expenses of some of our distinguished foreign colleagues.

David L. Cooke, and Shu T. Lai Air Force Research Laboratory, Hanscom AFB, MA Alain Hilgers ESA ESTEC, Noordwijk, The Netherlands Jody Minor, NASA-SEE, NASA-Marshall SFC, Huntsville, AL. Dale Ferguson NASA-Glenn Research Center, Cleveland OH.